Moroccan Chicken in the Slow Cooker

I declare myself a Pinterest addict, finding common interest with those who have a love for cooking, books, snowboarding, funny things, photography, clothing, shoes, music, camping, art….I can go on and on.  The point is when you find you have the same interest as others you become addicted to sharing and discovering what’s new in these things, leaving me with very little interest in any other site. So I have abandoned my food blog and all sites to indulge in Pinterest.   I found this really good recipe by Simply Recipes on there and I did make substitutions and it worked out wonderful with my little additions as well.  Instead of using Raisins I used dried apricots and I did add 1/4 cup of beef broth and wish I didn’t I read the comments about it being dry but I realized everyone used chicken breasts instead of thighs which give off more water than the breast does.  I think the flavors would have been more intense if I left the tiny bit of broth out.  Also, I didn’t have any allspice or nutmeg so I substituted Cardamom Spice. Delicious.  It has a nice subtle tanginess from the apricots but I think next time I will try it with dates to make it sweet. love!

chicken

chickendish

You can substitutes dates or prunes for the raisins.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs, trimmed of excess fat (don’t trim all the fat, just large pieces)
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed fennel seeds
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 red onion, roughly chopped, about 2 cups
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced (about 1 Tbsp)
  • 1 cup pitted green olives
  • 1/2 cup raisins  ( I used Dried Apricots)
  • 1/2 fresh lemon, thinly sliced
  • Fresh cilantro or parsley for garnish

METHODHIDE PHOTOS

1 Salt the chicken thighs: Sprinkle 1/2 teaspoon of salt over the chicken thighs. Let sit while you prep the other ingredients.

2 Whisk the spices together: Whisk together the spices in a small bowl—the paprika, ground ginger, ground cumin, ground coriander, turmeric, cinnamon, allspice, crushed fennel seeds, and nutmeg.

3 Layer onions, chicken, spices, garlic, olives, raisins, lemon slices in slow cooker: Place chopped onions at the bottom of a slow cooker bowl. Layer the chicken thighs on top of the onions. As you layer the chicken thighs, sprinkle them all over with the spice mix. (Use all of the spice mix.)

4 Cook in slow cooker: Cook on the high setting of the slow cooker for 2 to 2 1/2 hours, or 4 to 5 hours on the low setting (depending on your slow cooker brand). Towards the end of cooking, stir so that the lemons olives and raisins get mixed into the liquid. The chicken is done when it is fall apart tender.

Serve with couscous or rice (use rice if cooking gluten-free). Garnish with fresh cilantro and/or parsley.

Leave a Reply

