Fish Tacos with Cabbage and Chile Pepper Slaw

I purchased Paleo Magazine and I plan on trying out at least another 5 more recipes this summer.  I’ve already conquered two. 🙂  I love Cod- this fish has it’s own buttery texture mix that with the soft roasted tomatillos in mild flavors…ah perfection.  For the adult version I added a chopped roasted jalapeno to it.  For the slaw dressing I used the dressing also from this magazine on the pork chop recipe you will find I did earlier this week.  I added crushed pepper to that dressing to give it a spicy kick.

Cod

cod2

1 1/2 lb of Cod or Halibut Filets

2 Fresh tomatillos, husked and cut into 1/2 inch pieces

2 tsp of Olive Oil

1 clove of garlic

1/2 tsp orange zest

1/2 tsp lime zest

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp sea salt

Butter lettuce leaves

1 Cabbage Slaw Mix- I used Shredded Green and Red Cabbage with ORange Carrots mix from Trader Joes-  I combine added dressing to it and crushed pepper

 

In large bowl toss together fish and next seven ingredients (cut fish into 1 inch pieces)

Preheat broiler.  Spread Fish and tomatillos onto foil lined pan.  Broil 4-6 minutes close to heat to roast veggies.

Divide Fish mixture among lettuce leaves.  Top with Cabbage and Chile Pepper Slaw and if desired, serve with orange wedges.

 

196 Calories 9 grans Fat, 49 mg Chol, 196 mg sodium, 7 grans carb, 1 gran fiber, 21 grans protein.

Leave a Reply

