Dijon Pork Chops With Apple Salad

I started this blog back in 2006 so there are so many repeat recipes that I do with little twists and changes to them but nothing that I will post about.  So I will go long periods of not posting something until I get in my slump of a mood that I need to try something new. After standing in a long line at the grocery store I picked up the Paleo Recipes Magazine.  I decided on Pork chops, my least favorite meat to cook with but I decided to try it anyway.  It turned out really flavorful. I had picked up this amazing Garlic Aioli Mustard Sauce from Trader Joe’s awhile back and decided to replace the mayo, french mustard and whole grain mustard that the recipe calls for and added to the mustard sauce the thyme and honey which made it really tasty.  For the apple salad I used honey’d Slivered Almonds and kept the dressing the same.  Delicious!  Perfect food for such a hot day. :))

Porkchops2

I also decided to make Indian Spiced Chops as well-

All you do is add half tsp of Cumin, Turmeric, Chili Powder, Garham Masala and Salt.

Pork Chops

3 Cups baby arugula or I used chopped Romaine

1 Medium apple/thinly sliced

1/2 honey coated almonds

3 TBS cider vinegar

3 TBS Olive Oil

1 Tbsp honey

Dash sea salt and pepper

2 TBsp Aioli Garlic Mustard Sauce

2 tsp Thyme

1 tsp honey

1/4 tsp black pepper

4 bone in pork chops

In a large bowl combine first five ingredients (through almonds) cover and chill. For dressing, in a small bowl whisk together vinegar, oil, tbsp honey, salt, and pepper: cover and chill.

In a small bowl whisk together the rest of the ingredients through pepper.

Grill chops (I like to add dash of garlic salt to one side) cook for 10 minutes or when you poke a knife through it is still slightly pink. Spoon mustard sauce over the top.  :))

 

Leave a Reply

