Red Wine Meat Sauce Lasagna

I decided to go for something Italian 🙂 so no it isn’t healthy but it is darn good. I found a recipe I wanted to follow but I changed most of the ingredients- but this one seems really good with all the amazing reviews so if you want the exact recipe click on  All Recipes .  I guarantee you my twist on this is pretty amazing- especially if you love a little wine taste to it.  To try and cut some calories I did not use any sausage in my recipe.   I really wanted a sweet wine base taste and I absolutely love the way this came out.  I was thinking yesterday about the most amazing Lasagna I had at Giardino’s Restaurant.  If you are from the area go there they have amazing wine tastings you can do while savoring up the most amazing Lasagna ever.  So that is the reason this came to be for dinner tonight.  🙂

Lasagna

 

1 Package of 90% lean Ground Beef

1 Small Onion

2 Large Spoons of Chopped Garlic

Hanfull of Freshly Chopped Basil

Several Dashes of Bruschetta Sweet Basil and Oregano

Few grinds of Garlic Salt with Sea Salt Roasted Garlic, Onion and Parsley

1 Can of  Trader Joe’s Low Fat Tuscano Marinara Sauce

1 Can of Tomato Paste

dash of fennel Seeds

3/4 Cup of Red Wine Blend- I used Boggle (has a nice sweetness)

I used Swiss and Gruyere Cheese Blend

Shaved Parmesean Cheese

I did mix like how this recipe indicated the Ricotta Cheese mixed with 1 egg- which I thought was interesting I never did that before.

 

In a Dutch oven, cook ground beef, onion, and garlic over medium heat until well browned. Stir in Marinara sauce, Tomato Paste. Season with  basil, fennel seeds, garlic salt, Bruschetta seasoning and pepper. Simmer, covered, for about 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook lasagna noodles in boiling water for 8 to 10 minutes. Drain noodles, and rinse with cold water. In a mixing bowl, combine ricotta cheese with egg, remaining parsley, and 1/2 teaspoon salt.

Preheat oven to 375

  1.  assemble, spread 1 1/2 cups of meat sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish. Arrange 6 noodles lengthwise over meat sauce. Spread with one half of the ricotta cheese mixture. Top with a cheese. Spoon 1 1/2 cups meat sauce over cheese, and sprinkle with 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. Repeat layers, and top with remaining Swiss and Gruyere and Parmesan cheese. 

3 h 15 m12 servings448 cals

Leave a Reply

