Pecan Pesto with Parmesean,Asiago, Fontina and Mild Provolone Cheese Blend

I made a Pesto using Pecans and I added my own cheese blend to this recipe I found by Epicurous. The cheese blended I added to my recipe was Fontina, Parmesean, Asiago and Mild Provolone and just a handful of it.  It’s a really tasty pesto. :))  I made it to put in my Gnocchi Shrimp Recipe I made recently.   I have to say of all Pesto’s Macadamia nut is my favorite but we all know the cost of those nuts are just pricey.  When I was on the Big Island in Hawaii every dish was made with Macadamia nuts and they had so many trees growing them and I loved this one little farm that grew coffee beans as well as Macadamia nuts and we got to taste fresh from the shell Macadamia nuts.  We bought a bag and I have to say a hammer is what it took to get it open.   The Affogato’s with Macadamia nuts was the best thing I ever tasted in my life.  :))  So….yeah I need to go back to Hawaii. 😉

Pesto

pesto5

Pesto2

 

INGREDIENTS

    • 2 cups packed fresh basil leaves, washed well and spun dry
    • 2/3 cup olive oil
    • 1/2 cup pecans, toasted golden brown and cooled
    • 1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan  (My recipe has a cheese blend- see above)
    • 2 large garlic cloves, chopped and mashed to a paste with 1/2 teaspoon salt

PREPARATION

    1. In a food processor blend together all ingredients with salt and pepper to taste until smooth.(Pesto keeps, surface covered with plastic wrap, chilled, 1 week.)
Leave a Reply

