Dover Meuniere with Garbanzo bean, Kale, Broccoli Salad with Toasted Pine Nuts

I”m always skeptical about trying out a new fish it doesn’t always go smooth as I’ve learned with the different varieties of Salmon out there.  So when I came across the dover fish at Costco I decided to give it a go.  After some research on Pinterest I came across a simple enough recipe to give this fish a taste.  I came across No Recipes on Pinterest and found this Sole Meuniere recipe although I did make changes to the recipe to give a little more flavor.  It was simple enough to replicate and add my own little twist to. This fish is very soft, buttery and thin.  I didn’t have any shallots on hand, one item I never remember to buy at the grocery store- probably because the stores have a conspiracy going on with this onion and hide it on a secret shelf so I would never remember to pick it up while at the store.  No joke.  So I used a handful of finely chopped sweet onion and handful of cooked English Peas in addition.  I also pinched some hot chili pepper to top it in the end. I didn’t take a picture with the Chili Pepper I took a bite of it as seen in picture than realized it needed something more- so just a pinch of chili pepper all over the top of it gave it spice.   It came out pretty good and I made a side salad of Broccoli, Kale, Radicchio salad with toasted pine nuts and Garbanzo beans cooked in 1 tbls of lemon flavored Olive Oil.  I finished the salad with 2 TB of Walnut Oil for the dressing which gives it a nice nutty flavor.

 

dover

 

dover4

dover3

Flour for dusting- I didn’t use any in my recipe

3 TBspn of Butter

Hand Full of cooked English Peas-

1/2 small shallot (minced- I used sweet onion- just a handful)

2 TBS White Wine such as sauvignon Blanc

1 Tbs of lemon Juice

Parsley for garnish

Dash of Chili Pepper- I used in my recipe gives it a nice smoky flavor it is a bit bland tasting without this added spice.

Salt and pepper just one side of the fillet is needed and then lightly dust all surfaces of the fish with flour. Add 2 tablespoons of the butter to a frying pan and heat over medium heat until the pan is hot and the butter has melted. Add the dover and fry on one side until cooked about half way through .

 

Leave a Reply

