Spiced Chops with Chickpea Puree

This recipe comes from the same magazine I got my Goat Cheese Salad recipe from.  This is a Dec/2013 Jan/ 2014 issue of Fine Cooking.   After skimming through the pages this one caught my eye, I replaced using Lamb for Pork meat.  I loved this recipe the Chickpeas are so tasty and creamy.  I also made my own chickpeas from scratch from another recipe in this issue instead of using canned.   It takes a very long time to cook the chickpeas from scratch so get started on that early, I read the directions early enough to make it all work out.  I let them soak for 6 hours exactly before cooking them up and they do increase in size.  This is a definite recipe keeper but I must warn you….4 pans later….I”m thinking of all the dishes I”m going to be washing. 😉

pork2

I must admit now that I toasted the cumin and corriander seeds and blended them myself that aroma is way more enticing than the already made powders.  I just might convert to the seed base for now on.

pork5

pork.jpg

I grow mint and it’s so pretty outside right now…

pork3.jpg

What I love about my favorite food blogs are all their beautiful pictures in each post, as much as I love to take pictures I really need to take note from my favorite food bloggers and put a little more heart into it. :))

pork6

pork8

Mixing the Creme Fraiche, Olive oil  with the cooked Garbanzo Beans

pork4

Rub this baby down…. 😉  haha

  • 1 Tbs. cumin seeds
  • 1 Tbs. coriander seeds
  • 2 medium lemons, finely grated to yield 1 Tbs. zest and squeezed to yield 1/4 cup plus 1 tsp. juice
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 8 1-1/2- to 2-inch-thick lamb loin chops (2 to 2-1/2 lb.)
  • 3 cups Chickpeas with Bay Leaves and Herbs, plus 3/4 cup reserved cooking liquid
  • 2 Tbs. crème fraîche
  • 6 to 8 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 oz. (4 Tbs.) unsalted butter, diced
  • 1-1/2 Tbs. thinly sliced fresh mint

Toast the cumin and coriander seeds in an 8-inch skillet over medium-low heat, shaking the pan occasionally, until fragrant, 1 to 2 minutes. Transfer to a mortar (or a mini food processor or spice grinder). Add the lemon zest, 1-1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/2 tsp. pepper and finely grind. Rub the spices all over the lamb chops; let sit at room temperature for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, put the chickpeas, reserved cooking liquid, and 1-1/4 cups water in a 4-quart saucepan over medium-high heat and simmer for 5 minutes. Reserve 1/2 cup of the liquid, drain the chickpeas, and transfer to a food processor. Add 1/2 tsp. salt and a few grinds of pepper and pulse until the chickpeas are coarsely chopped. With the motor running, slowly add the reserved 1/2 cup liquid, the crème fraîche, 1/4 cup of the oil, and 1 tsp. of the lemon juice; purée until smooth. Season to taste with salt and pepper; keep warm.

Heat 2 Tbs. of the remaining oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Working in batches, cook the lamb chops, undisturbed, until deep golden-brown, 3 to 5 minutes. Flip and cook until medium rare (130°F), 4 to 6 minutes, adding more oil as needed for the second batch. Transfer to a plate to rest. Wipe the oil from the skillet, removing any burnt bits but leaving the caramelized morsels behind.

Add the remaining 1/4 cup lemon juice and 2 Tbs. water to the skillet and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Add the butter, a few pieces at a time, whisking until incorporated. Remove from the heat and season to taste with salt.

Divide the chickpea purée among 4 dinner plates and top with 2 lamb chops each. Drizzle with the pan sauce, sprinkle with the mint, and serve.

nutrition information (per serving):
Calories (kcal): 720; Fat (g): fat g 47; Fat Calories (kcal): 420; Saturated Fat (g): sat fat g 15; Protein (g): protein g 40; Monounsaturated Fat (g): 23; Carbohydrates (g): carbs g 37; Polyunsaturated Fat (g): 5; Sodium (mg): sodium mg 970; Cholesterol (mg): cholesterol mg 120; Fiber (g): fiber g 10;

 

Leave a Reply

