Salsa Verde Over White Steamed Fish

One of my favorite sites to visit for Mexican food is The Hispanic Kitchen- there is so much goodness on here it’s crazy.  Of all the ethnic food there is, are there any people out there that actually don’t like Mexican Food?  I wouldn’t believe it if there was. 😉   So, I wanted to make my own Salsa Verde and found a delicious version on Hispanic Kitchen– the only thing I did different was roasted everything after I boiled it all and it’s really tasty!  I did not use the microwave method.   I made it over New Zld white fish that I marinated in Evo, garlic and black pepper than poached in the oven in foil.  I did use the Chile de Arbol about 5 in mine and it’s not that spicy and I also used 5 serranos but left the seeds in a couple of them only.  So if you are looking for it to be extra spicy add more.

 

tomatillo sauce

tomatillo sauce2

Ingredients:

10 to 12 tomatillos, quartered (remove husk and rinse well)
3 to 5 serrano peppers, cut into thirds
3 to 5 chile de arbol, crushed, optional
1 small white onion, quartered
1 clove garlic, chopped
Juice of 1 keylime or 1 small lime
1½ teaspoon salt
¼ cup chopped cilantro, optional

 

Directions:

1. Remove the husks from the tomatillos and rinse in lukewarm water. In a microwave-safe container, add the tomatillos, serrano peppers, and onions. Cover with paper towel and cook on high for 7 to 8 minutes. Remove from microwave and let cool slightly. After cooking in microwave, transfer the tomatillo mixture to the blender, add the garlic, cilantro, salt and lime juice. Blend on high for just a few seconds. Taste for salt. Serve warm or at room temperature.

2. If adding the chile de arbol, I suggest cooking it on the stove top by boiling the tomatillos, onion and chile de arbol for about 10 to 12 minutes. Drain all the water before blending. Season and blend as directed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

