Shrimp and Vermicelle Coreen Noodles with Veggies

I’ve had this recipe up on my computer for two weeks now and I finally got around to making it. 🙂  It is a very quick and easy Shrimp with Vermicelle Coreen Noodles.  I don’t get these noodles in any markets near me that I know of and I was excited to see that Cost Plus was carrying it so I didn’t hesitate in grabbing me a bag.  I wanted to make them so after some search I found She Knows and this tasty shrimp version. I topped my bowl with Sambal Oelek, actually after I took this picture I dumped a bunch more into it for some spiciness.  This is a hit with the little ones 😉

cooking3

cooking1

 

cooking2

 

Prep time: 10 minutes | Cook time: 12 minutes | Total time: 22 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 10 medium to large shrimp, shelled and deveined, tails left on
  • Olive oil
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons Sriracha sauce (or more, to taste)
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and julienned
  • 4 ounces green beans, sliced
  • 1 small onion, coarsely chopped
  • 3.5 ounces vermicelli rice noodles
  • 3 cups vegetable broth (plus 1 cup more, if needed)
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste
  • 1 teaspoon lime juice (or more)
  • 3-4 fresh mint leaves (optional)

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan with olive oil over medium heat, sauté the shrimp until they change color, about 1 minute.
  2. Add the Sriracha sauce, and stir for about 30 seconds.
  3. Add all the remaining ingredients, and cook for 10 to 12 minutes or until the noodles are tender.
  4. If you want more soup, add another cup of vegetable broth.
Leave a Reply

