Thai Beef Eggplant

My favorite dish is Thai food’s Eggplant with beef or vegetarian style and have it with just veggies, either way it’s my favorite.  Since Bangkok Thai has opened and I can’t seem to explore their menu further without asking for this same dish every time I decided to make it myself.  I found an excellent recipe- I made some adjustments that work better to my liking but I followed most of the steps and process as  the Good Food blog.   I made a few additions, after cooking the meat I sauteed some sweet onions, carrots and chopped bok choy and added that to the meat before following the steps in the recipe.  I used Roasted Red Chili Paste instead of the plain one- which can only be found at specialty markets.  I used half the jar.  The coconut sauce part is a bit sweet so I would use 1 cup of the coconut milk next time.  It’s delicious this way but I didn’t add all the meat back to the pan as indicated in the recipe just to see if I would like the meat in the coconut sauce and it does take away the delicious flavor on the meat.  So instead of adding the meat back to the pan, just spoon the rice and eggplant on your plate and top with the meat not drenched in the coconut milk and you get so many flavor combinations.

eggplantbeef

eggplant

Ingredients

  • oil, for cooking
  • 2-6 teaspoons red curry paste, to taste
  • 500 g topside steak, thinly sliced
  • 375 ml (1 1/2 cups) coconut milk
  • 4 makrut (kaffir lime) leaves, roughly torn
  • 100 g pea eggplants or chopped eggplant
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 teaspoons soft brown sugar
  • 1 medium handful Thai basil or 1 very large handful coriander leaves

Method

1. Heat the wok until very hot, add 1 tablespoon of the oil and swirl it around to coat the side. Add the curry paste and stir for 1 minute over medium heat. Add the meat to the wok in batches and stir-fry for 3 minutes, or until brown. Remove all the meat from the wok and set aside.

2. Add the coconut milk, makrut leaves and 250 ml (1 cup) water to the wok, bring to the boil and simmer for 12 minutes. Add the eggplant and cook for 5-10 minutes, or until tender. Return the beef to the wok and simmer for 3 minutes.

3. Add the fish sauce, lime juice and brown sugar to the wok. Add most of the basil or coriander leaves, toss and serve immediately, sprinkled with the remaining basil or coriander leaves.

 

Leave a Reply

