Turkey Lettuce Wraps Topped with Kimchi

This is my own recipe using ingredients that I love.  I have little kids and I like to work veggies in their diet any way I can so I have over the years got playful with plain rice by adding in frozen corn or peas and now my little ones actually love those veggies.  So every time I make rice I add a veggie to it and it gives such a plain dish so much flavor too.  When I make Plain white rice I always add 1 tsp of good Extra Virgin Olive Oil as it boils.

For my Turkey Lettuce Wraps, I sauteed 1 yellow onion in 1 tsp EVO and let them slow cook to bring out the flavor of the sweet onion, once that gets a nice yellow color I added diced Mushrooms and add 1 Tablespoon of Turmeric.  I allowed that to cook for additional 2 mins than added 1 tsp of Cumin Powder  and about 1/2 cup of frozen sweet peas.  I stirred that up and let that cook.  I removed from pan and placed veggies  into a bowl than cooked up my ground turkey in the same pan, once cooked through I added ingredients back to the pan.  I added 2 Tablespoons of Soy Sauce and about 2 Tablespoons of Hoison Sauce- taste at this point I did a sample taste and you can add more to make it sweeter.  I made the kids bowls- first rice, than topped with turkey and Romaine on the side and they had their own fun making their wraps.  Once the kids bowls were made I added 1-2 Tablespoons of Indian Chili Powder for some heat.  Indian Chili Powder is far more spicy than any other one you will find on the shelf- so do a taste test if you’re using it.  As I made my bowl of rice, topped with turkey and made my lettuce wraps as I eat- it prevents the lettuce from getting soggy and falling apart.  Let everyone just spoon mixture over the lettuce as they go and if they choose they can just use the spoon and no lettuce at all.  I also topped my delicious lettuce wraps with Kimchi…..this stuff is my new Siracha calling- it goes good on almost anything. 😉

Enjoy!

lettuce wraps

Ingredients:

Yellow Onion

Mushrooms

1 Tablespoon of Turmeric

1 Tsp of Cumin Powder

Sweet Peas

Sweet Corn

Ground Turkey

Rice-

2 Tablespoons of Soy Sauce

2 Tablespoons of Hoision Sauce (taste for how sweet you want it) Add more or less

2 Tablespoons of Chili Powder (optional – if you want some heat) Add after the kids bowls are made 😉

Romaine Long Lettuce

Kimchi

 

Leave a Reply

