Sweet Potato Lentil Soup with Spinach :)) And Miso Cod

I”m on a roll…..a soup roll.  :))   I found yet another incredible soup, I was looking for a sweet potato and Lentil combination so I searched google and found food blogger Eat Yourself Skinny, I love this soup!  It has a hint of Indian spices.  When I sampled it half way through the cooking process the broth tasted bitter so I was expecting it to be a bitter broth but by the time it was done cooking the flavors changed and the sweet potato’s really pulled the flavors through the entire soup.  This was exceptional, enough for me to add it to a weekly rotation during these cold months. :))  Instead of using Cayenne spice I used Indian Chili Powder just 1 tsp- it’s a good substitute.  I used Grape seed oil to saute my onions in- just 1 tsp.  I didn’t have fresh ginger so I used 1 tsp of ground ginger and 1/4 spoon of garlic.  I used 4 cups of Spinach. I also ran out of Vegetable Broth so I used a combination of Chicken Broth.  Approximately 2 Cups of each.

Along side my soup I made Miso Marinated Cod using Martha Stewarts recipe– I didn’t have any Mirin on hand and I substituted with good quality Sake and I loved the result so much I’m going to stick to Sake in future Recipes. :))  I marinated my fish for 1 hour prior to broiling it.

sweet potato soup

Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup

Serving: 6 Servings

Recipe adapted from “The Kind Diet” by Alicia Silverstone

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 Tbsp safflower oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 small tomatoes, diced
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 1/2 tsp. turmeric
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 2-3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 3/4-inch cubes
  • 7 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup brown lentils
  • 1 cup baby spinach or kale

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. In a large pot, heat oil over medium heat and saute onion for about 2 minutes, until soft.
  2. Stir in tomatoes and ginger, cooking an addition 3 minutes. Stir in turmeric, cumin, coriander, cinnamon, cayenne and salt and cook for 2 minutes, tasting to make sure its to your liking.
  3. Next add the sweet potatoes, broth and lentils.
  4. Bring soup to a boil then reduce heat and cover, allowing to simmer for about 30 minutes.
  5. Then add spinach (or kale) and simmer for an additional 10 minutes. Enjoy!

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION

Serving Size: 1 1/2 cups • Calories: 123 • Fat: 4.6 g • Carbs: 16.2 g • Fiber: 4.1 g • Protein: 4 g • WW Points+: 3 pts

Cod miso

Miso Cod

INGREDIENTS

FOR THE BAKING SHEET

  • 4 skinless cod fillets (6 ounces each)
  • 1/4 cup mirin (Japanese sweet rice wine)
  • 1/4 cup white miso paste
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • Olive oil

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a small saucepan, combine mirin, miso, and sugar. Whisking constantly, cook over medium heat until sugar has dissolved. Remove from heat, and let cool completely.
  2. Heat broiler, with rack 6 inches from heat. Coat a baking sheet with oil. Place fish on baking sheet, and brush liberally with miso mixture. Broil until fillets are browned on top and opaque in the center, 6 to 8 minutes. If tops brown before fish is cooked through, cover loosely with aluminum foil. Remove from oven; serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

