BBQ Boneless Short Ribs Over Couscous With Onions, Mushrooms and Cauliflower

One of the amazing things about Los Angeles is the food, I”m so lucky to be just a traffic jam away from so many tasty options.  ;p  After making my visit to Scarpetta a couple of weeks ago I had it set in my mind to make Short Ribs.  I had two recipes, one that I’m dying to do but it will have to wait when I have more time to conquer it and have the right kind of Short Ribs.   The kind I bought was boneless, so after a quick search on the net I came across an easy recipe that is fantastic from Food blogger-Once Upon A Chef .  I loved it but I think I would add in 1 more Tablespoon of Chili Pepper next time hopping to get a kick. I also used Ketchup with Balsamic vinegar in it.   I wanted to top the meat on a Carb that isn’t so rich just to balance off the richness of the short ribs.  I carmelized finely chopped onion, mushrooms and Cauliflower in 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  I cooked the Cauliflower separately as it takes more time to brown than the other veggies.  I put that aside when finished and cooked Couscous in 1/4 beef broth and 1/2 water and once that was done cooking I tossed it in with my veggies.  So tasty….this recipe will definitely make the rotation and my side dish creation was the perfect balance too.

boneless ribsboneless ribs2

Servings: 4
Prep Time: 15 Minutes
Cook Time: 3 Hours
Total Time: 3 Hours 15 Minutes

Ingredients

For the Short Ribs

  • 4 pounds boneless beef short ribs, cut into 4-inch long pieces
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

For the BBQ Sauce

  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 3/4 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.
  2. Season the short ribs all over with salt and pepper, then arrange in a 13 by 9-inch baking dish (it will be a tight squeeze).
  3. Combine all of the ingredients for the BBQ sauce in a small bowl and stir until smooth.
  4. Pour 1/3 of the sauce (about 1/2 cup) over the short ribs. Using tongs, flip the ribs over and spoon another 1/3 of the sauce over top. Reserve the remaining BBQ sauce to spoon over the cooked ribs. Cover the pan with aluminum foil and roast for 2-1/2 hours. Remove the foil and, if the cooking liquid is covering the meat, use a large spoon or ladle to remove some of the liquid so that the tops are exposed. (Note: the meat will look unappetizing at this stage; don’t worry, it will look much better once it’s done!) Cook for 30 minutes more, uncovered, until the meat is tender and browned. Cut off any excess fat that remains around the short ribs. Transfer the short ribs to a serving platter. Discard the cooking liquid, as it will be very greasy. Slather the reserved BBQ sauce over the short ribs and serve.

Leave a Reply

