Lamb & Date Tagine

When I was in Spain we visited a little town called, “La Granada” it is a beautiful place a little village.  Something you see in movies, of cobblestone narrow streets as cars don’t fit and I love that it is not a tourist destination, so it made the whole experience truly beautiful.  It is in this little town that I found the most awesome food ever.   We decided to check out this little place that served up Moroccan food and it was so nicely decorated inside with big plush pillows of shades of orange, purple and red hues, along with the belly dance music and such flavorful food. I have been in search of this Moraccan food experience ever since and with Los Angeles being the biggest City that likes to play and be creative even with the ethnic dishes,  I’ve yet to find that Lamb Tagine I had that night and it will always be my food story to people.  So, the other day I was pinning away on pinterest and it caught my eye, Lamb and date tagine and I thought well….I’m giving it a go.   This is a very flavorful recipe, I thought it was difficult dealing with the oven and removing the pan and turning the pieces over, so I plan on making this dish again in a crock pot.  I went with the smaller lamb shoulder instead of the Shank mainly because of cost, $25 bucks for one shank at Gelson’s just didn’t sound like a deal to me.  Huge Shanks, but the butcher himself told me the shoulder is more tender.   I love the way this came out, it took longer than expected just to get the meat to the tenderness I wanted, but I will try the shank next time in the slow cooker for 6 hours.   Use the shoulder if you want to cook it in less than 2 hours.  I got this recipe from Taste.com

lamb tagine

lamb tagine2

 

Lamb tagine3

 

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 6 Coles frenched lamb shanks
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 2 cups Coles brand real chicken stock
  • 750g sweet potato, peeled, cut into 2.5cm pieces
  • 2 parsnips, thickly sliced
  • 3/4 cup Coles brand pitted dates, halved
  • 1/3 cup coriander leaves
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups couscous
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Leave a Reply

