Oreo Cookie Scones

Any baker/cook knows if you don’t have an ingredient you improvise and well I was craving scones and….someone took my bag of chocolate chips.   I wanted chocolate but not the dark bitter chocolate that I eat so I crushed some Oreo Cookie crumbs into the batter and yes….this scone has a cookie taste. ;p   I added 1 Tablespoon of Vanilla yogurt to the heavy cream hopping to get a vanilla after taste but it didn’t work but I loved the texture of this scone so much I wouldn’t change this recipe.  Crisp on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside with my chunks of Oreo Cookie crumbs.  I got creative and actually loved the result 😉  I also added a handful of Peanut butter chips- enough to not overpower it.  I also simmered down some strawberries and dropped a chocolate piece in there and…..it was bitter from the strawberries and the dark chocolate so next time I will use Milk chocolate to give it more of a sweetness to it.

oreo cookie scones

oreo cookie scones2

 

 

Do you love scones?  Well type it in my search box on my site and find more!  I have a bit of addiction to this not so sweet yet not so plain bread goodness.

 

Chocolate Chip Scone

1 1/2 cup Flour

1/4 Cup Sugar

2 tsp Baking Pwdr

pinch of salt

1 cup Chocolate chips or Crush Oreo’s (I used 6 cookies)

handful of peanut butter chips

1 cup Heavy Cream

1 Tablespoon of Vanilla Yogurt

Mix and Bake @ 375 for 20 mins or until golden- brush tops with melted butter.

Leave a Reply

