Green Lentils with Kale and Sweet Potato

As I was on Pinterest pining away  I stumbled on this recipe by StraightUpFood and thought veggies and lentils….sounds yummy.  Perfect for a meatless meal!    It’s got veggies I don’t normally make, like Cauliflower, Kale, Sweet Potato, Yam and green lentils which I never eat.  Bowl full of goodness.   I’m adding this to my rotation just so I can get these veggies in my diet at least once a month. 🙂   I used Japanese Curry powder (the recipe doesn’t indicate which kind to use) and I found the sweet flavor of this curry perfect for this dish.  Also I used one sweet potato and one Yam- because I’m never sure which one it is that I like better and I loved the combination of the two in this dish. I got this great recipe from StraightUpFood– food blogger.

kale


6 cups water
1 cup Green lentils
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 small yam or sweet potato, diced
2 cups small cauliflower florets
2 ribs celery, sliced
1 can (14.5-oz.) diced, salt-free tomatoes
2 teaspoons curry powder
2 teaspoons dried green herbs  (Italian)
1 teaspoon granulated onion
1 teaspoon granulated garlic
4 cups greens cut into bite-size pieces (like kale, chard, spinach, collards, beet greens)

Directions
1. In a soup pot on high, bring the water and lentils to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and cook for 20 minutes (a low boil).

2. Add the onion, yam/sweet potato, cauliflower, celery, tomatoes (including juice), and the four herbs and spices. Cook for 10 minutes at the same heat. Add greens, and cook for 5-10 more minutes (spinach, chard and beet greens won’t take as long to cook as kale or collard greens), until potatoes and greens are tender.

Leave a Reply

