Soba Noodles with Mushrooms and Chicken

I’ve been on a Pho kick lately, Vietnamese food is a new thing for me, so finding a good noodle recipe has been my latest venture.  I’m going to make good Pho one day….today I started with something more simple yet really satisfying.   I found this fantastic recipe from ANNIE’S EATS, it was perfect with lots of mushrooms, bok choy, green onions and chicken.  I’m keeping this recipe in the rotation for sure.  The only addition to this recipe was I added Siracha to my bowl and it was spicy and flavorful.    This is a kid friendly recipe and a good way to get your kid to get their Vitamin A!   For the chicken I bought legs and thighs a more juicy meat choice and boiled that in some cumin and onions than shredded it into the dish.

Once again I lost natural light so my picture stinks…. 😦  (If you click on the picture it does get better…hehe)

Ingredients:

1 tbsp. vegetable oil
2½ cups mushrooms, trimmed and sliced (shiitake or cremini)
4 scallions, sliced, with white and green parts separated
3 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 tsp. grated fresh ginger (peeled)
5 cups reduced-sodium chicken stock
2 cups water
6 oz. soba noodles
2 cups shredded cooked chicken
12 oz. baby bok choy, ends trimmed
Juice of 1 lime
1 tbsp. low-sodium soy sauce
Kosher salt, to taste

Directions:

Heat the oil in a stockpot or Dutch oven over medium-high heat.  Add the mushrooms, white scallion parts, garlic and ginger to the pan.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until the mushrooms begin to soften, about 5 minutes.  Stir in the chicken stock and water and bring to a boil.

Add the soba noodles to the pot and cook at a boil for 5 minutes.  Stir in the shredded chicken and bok choy and cook 2 minutes more, until noodles are tender and bok choy is wilted and slightly softened.  Stir in the lime juice and soy sauce.

Leave a Reply

