Filet Mignon with Port/Mustard Sauce and Chocolate Ganache for Dessert

For Valentines Day I wanted to make something special and after I did some research I found a yummy recipe for Filet Mignon through Cooking Light Magazine.   The sauce was so light and tasty,  the combination of shallots and sweet wine brought such a nice intense flavor to this dish.  I’m so proud of myself for cooking the meat to perfection! Not without help from Cooking Light though, props to them for giving me a time window.  Steak is really hard to get right, cook it too much and it’s ruined and if you cook it too soon and let it sit that too ruins it.  I’d hug myself if I could for getting this right. 🙂  Yeah….I’m awesome…haha

I’m always hearing about what the guy has done for the girl and what she got for Valentines Day but why is it that I never hear about what SHE is doing for him?  Is it just food bloggers that prepare an extra special meal for the men in their lives?  I’m sure it’s just my imagination…

I also have a yummy finger licking Ganache recipe, so easy to make that it is worth making often, found that one at Fine Cooking. 🙂

I wish I used my white plate for this shot, I see why colored plates don’t work good for food photography.   :/   Ah well, live and learn.

Chocolate Ganache- in a Martini Glass.. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCPZaX_foxU&feature=youtu.be

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray
  • 4 (4-ounce) filet mignon steaks, trimmed
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 cup port or other sweet red wine
  • 3 tablespoons chopped shallots
  • 1/2 cup fat-free, less-sodium beef broth
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

Preparation

  1. 1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Sprinkle both sides of steaks with salt and pepper. Add steaks to pan; cook 3 1/2 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness. Remove steaks from pan; cover and keep warm.
  2. 2. Add port and shallots to pan. Cook 1 minute or until liquid almost evaporates, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Stir in broth; cook until reduced to 1/3 cup (about 1 minute). Remove from heat; stir in mustard. Serve steaks with sauce.
Note:Port, a fortified dessert wine, has a distinctively smooth sweetness. If you don’t have port, substitute red wine.

David Bonom, Cooking Light
MARCH 2008

Nutritional Information

Amount per serving

  • Calories: 217
  • Calories from fat: 39%
  • Fat: 9.3g
  • Saturated fat: 3.4g
  • Monounsaturated fat: 3.6g
  • Polyunsaturated fat: 0.5g
  • Protein: 24.3g
  • Carbohydrate: 3.8g
  • Fiber: 0.1g
  • Cholesterol: 70mg
  • Iron: 3.4mg
  • Sodium: 361mg
  • Calcium: 17mg
Leave a Reply

