Amazing Peanut Butter Cheesecake

Merry Christmas!

I wanted to try something new to add to the table of desserts at my Parents house this year so after having the Peanut Butter Cheesecake at The Cheesecake Factory recently all I can think about is trying to mimic that amazing cheesecake.  I had to find something online that would at least resemble it’s goodness and I came across this recipe from Food.com.

This is my Peanut Butter Cheesecake Recipe in the making….using my new iphone 4S camera 🙂

Placing Cheesecake in a water bath and into the oven.

Adding Reese Peanut Butter Cups to my Cream Cheese Filling

Mixing blended Oreo’s with Blended Peanuts for the crust

We do Christmas Eve at my Parents house every year and  my parents have always made Christmas truly memorable for me and my sisters.   When we were little we often spent Christmas in Mexico with my Dad’s side of the family and it was so much fun seeing my cousins, we would play all day long and the house would smell of tamales, Champurado and Posole.  Christmas Eve we celebrate from my Mexican roots and Christmas day if we don’t’ have anything planned with anyone I usually do the traditional American food of Bourbon Glazed Ham.  My mom is of Irish and German decent and my husband from India, so I get the opportunity to experience different cultural ways not just during the Holidays but always. 🙂

So, the only thing that can make this Christmas Day sweet….is the Lakers wining the game today. 🙂

Champurado

Vegetarian Posole

Tamale

Ingredients:

 For The Crust

For The Filling

  • 2 lbs cream cheese , softened
  • eggs , at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter (not natural-style)
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 12 Reese’s Peanut Butter cups , broken into small pieces

For The Topping

Directions:

  1. 1
    Please Note****Plan ahead–cheesecake needs to chill for at least 4 hours.
  2. 2
    To Make The Crust:.
  3. 3
    Combine crushed Oreo cookies and peanuts that have been ground in a food processor with the melted butter.
  4. 4
    Pat the crust mixture onto bottom and sides of a 10-inch springform pan.
  5. 5
    To Make The Filling:.
  6. 6
    Beat cream cheese in bowl of electric mixer until smooth.
  7. 7
    Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  8. 8
    Add sugar, peanut butter and cream; mix until smooth.
  9. 9
    Stir in vanilla, then fold in peanut butter cup pieces with a rubber spatula.
  10. 10
    Pour filling into prepared crust.
  11. 11
    Place springform pan into a larger baking pan.
  12. 12
    Pour hot water into the larger pan so that the water comes 1 inch up the sides of the springform pan.
  13. 13
    Bake at 275°F 1-1/2 hours, or until firm and lightly browned.
  14. 14
    For The Topping:.
  15. 15
    Combine the sour cream and sugar and spread on the cheesecake.
  16. 16
    Return the cake to the oven for 5 minutes.
  17. 17
    Remove from the oven and allow to cool on a wire rack for one hour.
  18. 18
    You may run a knife along the edge of the cake to loosen it from the pan somewhat.
  19. 19
    Refrigerate for at least 4 hours.
Leave a Reply

