Toledo, Spain- Medieval Architecture and Meson Palacios Restaurant

We took a train out to visit the city of Toledo. This was one of my favorite Cities that we visited along with Seville and Granada which I have more to share with you in my upcoming posts.

Interesting facts about the City of Toledo-

It was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1986 for its extensive cultural and monumental heritage as one of the former capitals of the Spanish Empire and place of coexistence of ChristianJewish andMuslim cultures, as well as the place where harsh religious persecutions were held against the Jews.

Many famous people and artists were born or lived in Toledo, including Al-ZarqaliGarcilaso de la VegaEleanor of ToledoAlfonso X and El Greco. It was also the place of important historic events such as the Visigothic Councils of Toledo

DON’T FORGET TO CLICK ON THE PICTURES FOR A BIGGER CLEARER VIEW.

This is the Gate entrance to the city which is really cool, like something from the movies with the knights men and their horses would go charging in at.  I couldn’t get a good shot because we took a bus up the steep hill, which couldn’t be done with kids because of the climb.  This is a very off center shot… 😦  You can look it up on google, it’s pretty cool.

The detail put into the sculptures on these Cathedrals is just mind blowing.

The inside Ceiling Dome shape with this painting in it and sculptures all around it.   Beautiful!

The night time photography on my camera sucks, but I tried to capture the whole piece leading up to the ceiling dome.

At the end of this hallway lead to another room showing a really beautiful dome ceiling artwork as well..

I’m moved by the the detail emphasis on the ceiling art piece.

All of the streets in the city of Toledo were this small…only scooters and tiny cars roamed through here.  My kind of place 🙂

Yeah….that’s me and my little girl

Stopped for a bite to eat and I had some fantastic Paella and a Spanish Omelet At Meson Palacios.  I highly recommend this place if your in the City and judging by the reviews I’m not the only one that agrees. 🙂

Couldn’t leave without ordering a cup of Cafe Con Leche….you know how we are about our Starbucks here, well their little cups of coffee you can get almost anywhere was my addiction.

After roaming around the city we found this mouth watering bakery and discovered the sweet tooth addiction here to try in Toledo, Spain is called Marzipan- the freshly made stuff melts in your mouth it is delicious and you can get it with fruit fillings, egg filling or just plain the way I liked it best.  We purchased this from San Tome Marzipans store.

I really wanted to buy a sword after seeing them in almost every store window.   I think I would’ve caused some mayhem at the airport though if I even attempted to bring it back…. 😉  I was being a little kid the whole time whining to my man how much I wanted one. hehehe….I didn’t win in the end….I didn’t get one… 😦

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Loved the post. Beautiful pictures and beautiful food. Real good work there. When you have the time, do drop by my blog. I’d love to hear from you.

    1. Debbie says:

      Thank you! I love your food blog too! Can’t wait to try some of those recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

