Stir-Fried Chinese Egg Noodles

I go out to eat Chinese food maybe once every two months if even that, I don’t crave the taste of it,  not like the way I do with Thai food.  So,  I was browsing through one of my Cooking Light Magazines in search of something new and I wrestled with the idea of giving this Chinese Egg Noodle  recipe a try.  I’m glad I did as I was not only impressed once again by one of Cooking Light‘s healthier take on a very high calorie dish but I’m adding it in the rotation with my other repeated dishes I make.   I think it’s the combination of Egg, Mushrooms, my favorite veggie Spinach, Green Onions, Chinese Noodles and because it’s meatless which is hard for a Carnivor like myself to find such recipes and like them.  I really loved the flavor this had and I can see myself munching on this for lunch at least once a week.  You can totally change it up a bit too, I’m going to cut the carbs out and make it with Shrimp instead of noodles next time. 🙂

Just FYI- If you’re not use to cooking fresh noodles,  make sure your water is boiling and salt added in before dropping them in or they will be sticky and mushy and it will totally ruin your dish.  Don’t let them sit in the boiled water too long too, remove quickly, run them through a strainer and run cold water through it to prevent the heat from making them stick together.

 …

When dieting remember it is all about portion control.  Rely on the serving size and if you’re use to eating out all the time it’s a good idea to measure your food with a measuring cup until you get the idea of what a serving size is.  Most Restaurants put enough food on one plate to serve 2-3 people.

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces fresh or frozen Chinese egg noodles, thawed
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil $
  • 1 cup sliced cremini mushrooms
  • 5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 green onions, diagonally sliced $
  • 1/4 cup lower-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar $
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons fresh lime juice $
  • 1 tablespoon dark sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon ketchup $
  • 1 tablespoon chile paste (such as sambal oelek)
  • 2 large eggs $
  • 2 cups spinach, trimmed $

Preparation

  • 1. Cook the egg noodles according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain. Set aside.
  • 2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add canola oil to pan, and swirl to coat. Add mushrooms; sauté 4 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add garlic and green onions; sauté for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Combine soy sauce and the next 5 ingredients (through chile paste), stirring well. Stir soy sauce mixture into mushroom mixture; bring to a boil.
  • 3. Add noodles to pan; toss to coat. Add eggs; cook 2 minutes or until eggs are set, tossing well. Remove from heat; stir in spinach.

Julianna Grimes, Cooking Light
SEPTEMBER 2011

Nutritional Information

Amount per serving

  • Calories: 304
  • Fat: 10.3g
  • Saturated fat: 1.8g
  • Monounsaturated fat: 4.5g
  • Polyunsaturated fat: 2.8g
  • Protein: 14.4g
  • Carbohydrate: 39.6g
  • Fiber: 2.3g
  • Cholesterol: 106mg
  • Iron: 1.8mg
  • Sodium: 662mg
  • Calcium: 54mg
Leave a Reply

