Pozole de Puerco

pork pozolePork pozole in pot

I grew up on Mexican food but interesting enough my mom is actually of Irish and German decent.  She learned her cooking through my grandmother on my father’s side , my grandmother grew up and resided in Ensenada,  Mexico.   Pozole is a Christmas tradition dish in my family, it is made on Christmas Eve and for those that don’t know Mexican’s celebrate Christmas Eve like American’s celebrate Christmas Day.   It doesn’t feel like Christmas Eve to me if I don’t get the traditional Mexican celebration with the food and music.  I found this recipe one day while skimming through a Bon Appetit Magazine and was intrigued by it.  I haven’t learned my mom’s version of this recipe yet but mainly because she makes it vegetarian style now that my parents can’t have very much Pork in their diet.  So, I gave this recipe a whirl and loved the results but it is not my mom’s  version so it lacks the punch that my mom’s pozole has but I do promise to get that recipe on here the next time I make it.  What I loved about Bon Appetit’s version was the braising of the Pork and it is what made me jump on making this recipe.  Plus, I’ve never had green colored Pozole before, I’m use to the red color version.  I would definitely make this again, but I will do a post on the beautifully homemade red version that my mom makes in the coming months.

If you want to try some of my other Mexican dishes check out My Enchiladas, Tostadas, Sopas and Chille Rellenos.  All that I ask is you don’t steal my homemade version of these recipes, it is illegal to do this,  please give credit for finding it here and not take it and make it your own.

  • 4 medium onions, divided
  • 7 tablespoons canola oil or vegetable oil, divided
  • 4 tablespoons ancho chile powder,* divided
  • 2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons dried oregano (preferably Mexican), divided
  • 1 6-to 6 1/2-pound bone-in pork shoulder (Boston butt), cut into 4- to 5-inch pieces, some meat left on bone
  • 5 cups (or more) low-salt chicken broth
  • 4 7-ounce cans diced green chiles, drained
  • 5 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 4 15-ounce cans golden or white hominy, drained
  • 4 limes, each cut into 4 wedges
  • Thinly sliced green onion
  • Chopped fresh cilantro


Preparation

Preheat oven to 350°F. Thinly slice 2 onions. Heat 4 tablespoons oil in heavy large ovenproof pot over medium-high heat. Add sliced onions to pot and sauté until onions begin to soften, about 3 minutes. Add 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon ancho chile powder and 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon oregano; stir to coat. Sprinkle pork with salt and add to pot. Add 5 cups broth. Bring to boil. Cover and transfer to oven.

Braise pork until tender enough to shred easily, about 2 hours. Using slotted spoon, transfer pork to large bowl. Pour juices into another large bowl. Refrigerate separately uncovered until cool, then cover and keep chilled overnight.

Discard fat from top of chilled juices; reserve juices. Chop pork into 1/2-inch cubes, discarding excess fat. Thinly slice remaining 2 onions. Heat remaining 3 tablespoons oil in heavy large pot over medium-high heat. Add onions; sauté until soft, stirring often, about 7 minutes. Add remaining 2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons ancho chile powder, remaining 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon oregano, diced chiles, garlic, and cumin; stir 30 seconds. Add pork, reserved juices, and hominy. Bring to boil; reduce heat to low. Cover with lid slightly ajar and simmer 30 minutes to allow flavors to blend, adding more broth to thin, if desired. DO AHEAD: Can be made 1 day ahead. Cool slightly. Chill uncovered until cool. Cover and keep chilled. Rewarm before continuing.

Ladle posole into bowls. Garnish with lime wedges, green onion, and cilantro.

Leave a Reply

